Para-badminton player, cricketer among 9 to get state disability award - Mandi Gobindgarh News

Mandi Gobindgarh News

Mandi Gobindgarh News and Directory


Post Top Ad

Your Ad Spot

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Para-badminton player, cricketer among 9 to get state disability award

Para-badminton player, cricketer among 9 to get state disability award

Ajay Joshi

Tribune News Service

Jalandhar, December 2

Having clinched several medals in various national and international para-badminton championships, Palak Kohli, 17-year-old player from Jalandhar, who has a left under-grown arm, has become the youngest player, who is in the top race to qualify for the Tokyo Paralympics-2020. She is among the nine persons with disabilities, who are selected for the state disability award that will be held in Ropar tomorrow.

Apart from her immense rise in the Badminton World Federation’s para-badminton world rankings, she holds sixth spot in women’s doubles ranking and 11th in the women’s singles para-badminton players’ ranking.

She says for any disabled person it simply takes an attitude of acceptance to change his/ her life the way they want it to be.

She started playing badminton at the age of 14 with the support of her parents and coach Gaurav Khanna. “Life entered into a new phase when I started learning the sport and won my first gold medal in the ASISC Zonal Regional Games Competition. It not only gave me a new identity but also motivated to clinch more medals in international championships,” added Palak.

Similarly, after losing his left hand in an accident, when he was 15, Mandeep Singh (25), a resident of Fazilka, is making the country proud by putting his best leg forward in the cricket championships being organised all over the world. He is a fast pace bowler of the Indian Physically Disabled Persons Cricket Team. His team recently won the T20 cricket series that was organised by the England Cricket Board for the physically disabled teams across the world.

Besides them, the other persons with disabilities awardees are Ajay Singh (Jalandhar), Manmeet Kaur Ghumman (Patiala), Gursevak Singh (Moga), Ramandeep Kaur (Ropar), Mohammad Rizwan (Malerkotla), Surinder Kumar (Jalalabad) and Malkiat Kaur (Mansa).

Moreover Dr Vishal Goyal, a computer science professor at Punjabi University, Rajeev Kumar, a resource teacher giving skill training to disabled children in Ludhiana, and Ashadeep Welfare Society in Hoshiarpur will also be awarded the disability award for their contribution to the welfare of persons with disabilities.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad

Your Ad Spot